Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath (1932-1963)


Sylvia Plath (born; October 27, 1932 – February 11, 1963) was one of the most renowned and influential poets, novelists, and short story writers of the 20th century. Born in Boston, she studied at Smith College and Newnham College at the University of Cambridge before receiving acclaim as a poet and writer. She was married to fellow poet Ted Hughes from 1956 until they separated in September 1962. They lived together in the United States and then England and had two children, Frieda and Nicholas. Plath was clinically depressed for most of her adult life. She committed suicide in 1963.

Plath is credited with advancing the genre of confessional poetry and is best known for her two published collections, The Colossus and Other Poems, and Ariel. She also wrote The Bell Jar, a semi-autobiographical novel published shortly before her death. In 1982, she won a posthumous Pulitzer Prize for The Collected Poems.

List of works:                                                                                                                                                
Poetry collections:
The Colossus and Other Poems (1960) William Heinemann
Ariel (1965) Faber and Faber
Three Women: A Monologue for Three Voices (1968) Turret Books
Crossing the Water (1971) Faber and Faber
Winter Trees (1971) Faber and Faber
The Collected Poems (1981) Faber and Faber
Selected Poems (1985) Faber and Faber                                                                              
Collected prose and novels:
The Bell Jar: A novel (1963), under the pseudonym "Victoria Lucas"
Letters Home: Correspondence 1950–1963 (1975)
Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams: Short Stories, Prose, and Diary Excerpts (1977)
The Journals of Sylvia Plath (1982)
The Magic Mirror (published 1989), Plath's Smith College senior thesis
The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath, edited by Karen V. Kukil (2000)       
Children's books: 
The Bed Book (1976), illustrated by Quentin Blake, Faber and Faber
The It-Doesn't-Matter-Suit (1996) Faber and Faber
Collected Children's Stories (UK, 2001) Faber and Faber
Mrs. Cherry's Kitchen (2001) Faber and Faber

Sylvia Plath's famous books

Sylvia Plath quotes