Lyndon B. Johnson

Lyndon B. Johnson (1908-1973)


Lyndon Baines Johnson (; August 27, 1908 – January 22, 1973), often referred to as LBJ, was an American politician who served as the 36th President of the United States from 1963 to 1969, assuming the office after serving as the 37th Vice President of the United Statesunder President John F. Kennedy, from 1961 to 1963.

Johnson was a Democrat fromTexas, who served as a United States Representative from 1937 to 1949 and as a United States Senator from 1949 to 1961.

He spent six years asSenate Majority Leader, two as Senate Minority Leader, and two as Senate Majority Whip.