Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry (1937)


Lois Lowry (born Lois Ann Hammersberg; March 20, 1937) is an American writer credited with more than thirty children's books. She has won two Newbery Medals, forNumber the Stars in 1990 andThe Giver in 1994. 

For her contribution as a children's writer, she was a finalist in 2000 (and U.S. nominee again in 2004, as well as a finalist in 2016) for the biennial, international Hans Christian Andersen Award, the highest recognition available to creators of children's books. 

Her book Gooney Bird Greenewon the 2002 Rhode Island Children's Book Award. In 2007 she received the Margaret Edwards Award from theAmerican Library Associationfor her contribution in writing for teens. In 2011 she gave the May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture; her lecture was titled "UNLEAVING: The Staying Power of Gold ". She was also awarded an honorary Doctorate of Letters by Brown Universityin 2014

Lois Lowry's famous books